Home Page 

My Poems           Guitars          Photography           Astronomy          Railways     About Me 


God is Love         

My World                   












Site Map

I’m in my mid sixties, living in the South Wales Valleys, in a town called Aberdare. My name is Charles Loft and firstly, thank you, for visiting my website!

You’ve probably guessed I like anything to do with surfing! I also played guitar with a local Rock Band, and helped with Computers at New Horizons.  New Horizons are an Aberdare Mental Health Support Charity for our local Rhondda Cynon Taff county area, which I used to attend as a volunteer in Aberdare. I like to think I am easy-going, friendly and very easy to get on with!

I'm now limited by a heart condition, so I can't do anything active. I can only watch surf videos!

I also have a keen interest in photography, astronomy and last but not least in model railways!

I’ve been interested in all these areas since childhood, except surfing and playing guitar,

both taken up un my teens!

I DJ for a local radio station DapperFM monthly, once for a New Horizons show (second Wednesday in month 12-2pm) and for my own rock show on third Tuesday of the month 4-6pm. At the moment DapperFM only goes out over the Internet.


I’ve spent most of my adult life in teaching, including Comprehensives, Primary schools and more latterly F E College Lecturing, where I taught both Computing and ICT to A level. I qualified at Swansea in Maths and Education, but diversified into Computing and ICT as opportunities allowed. I left teaching for retirement in early 2005.


I am married with four children, all of them grown up now!


I used to go surfing at Llangennith on the Gower peninsular and I have also surfed in Cornwall and S W France.


I could live (well almost!!) on Cos lettuce and strawberries. I enjoy steak, Chinese, Italian and Mexican food.


We had a cat, and have previously owned a dog. The cat owned us I think as she was happy to stay!!!


I went on caravan holidays since 1985 and we have changed a few years ago to a Motorhome. We have holidayed in Dorset, Devon, Cornwall and North, Mid and West Wales at home, and the Vendee and S W France in France, and also visited Northern Spain.  We have been to the Pyrenees and tried cable cars and mountainside trains. I have been to the top of le Pic du Midi de Bigorre at 9340’ which is pretty awe-inspiring!


I really like SW France from Vieux Bocau to the Spanish Border, including of course Biarritz.

We have holidayed more recently in Malta and Majorca. Majorca is a wonderful and extremely beautiful island that I adore!


With music, I am also trying to learn keyboard. I play folk, ragtime,

rock and blues tunes on guitar. I'm very limited now though as to how long I can play as I get severe angina from my blocked coronary artery.


Listening-wise, I like most music from almost any genre (except rap or Afro styles)

provided they are good songs, with good melodies and excellent instrumentals. My preferences are rock or folk music.


I like action/ thriller films and some of the best animated comedies. I also like Computer Games.


I don’t have too many dislikes, apart from Advocados and really difficult people!